Trick or Treat Banner

When I was in Iowa in August I decided to make a Halloween banner based on one I saw in a catalog.  The one in the catalog looked cheap and probably wouldn’t last the month so I bought most of the supplies to make my own.  When I got back to Denver I bought the Martha Stewart Scoring Board.  It is a tool I have wanted for a while and now I have a reason to need it. 

I finally got started on the banner on Sept. 30.  I used the Haunted Manor line by Doodlebug and black cardstock. 

Start of the banner

I cut the paper to fit on the chip board banner pieces from Hobby Lobby.  That took a couple of hours.  Then I experiments with making the rosettes.  The 1 1/2 inch strip was too small but 2 inches was too big and it ripped when I was trying to flatten it.  I ended up with 1 3/4 inch strips.  That made a 3 1/2 inch rosette.  I cut a 2 1/2 inch circle using the George and Basic Shapes cartridge.  Then I cut a 1 3/4 inch circle to put on top of that.  I finished it off with the letters cut from Jubilee at 3 3/4 inches. 

I put it together with black hemp yarn.  Then I decided it needed a little something else and put Halloween brads in the holes.

Trick or treat banner

Trick or treat banner

Trick or treat banner

Trick or treat banner

Trick or treat banner

Trick or treat banner

Trick or treat banner

We hung it over the entryway to the dining room.

IMG_9967

3 responses to this post.

  1. How fun and festive! This is super cute, I love the colors that you’ve used and what a great way to use up some paper!

    Reply

  2. […] from Love Scrapbooks made this beautiful Trick or Treat […]

    Reply

  3. congratulations on your feature with Pink Cricut today. I am a banner junkie so I just adore this! The detail is just amazing and the paper is perfect!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

